Who we are

Our History

The African Farmers Association of South Africa was launched on the 12th of April 2011 by 3000 founding members from all nine provinces of South Africa, who were formally NAFU-SA members.

The launch of AFASA is the culmination of a year long consultation process with developing farmers country wide to determine their need for an official structure that represents their interests. As part of the consultative process, a national convention of African Farmers held in Bloemfontein in December 2010 adopted a new constitution, structure and a five-year-strategic plan. After the convention, district and provincial structures were launched between 18 January and 5 April 2011.

Leadership was democratically elected in the provinces using the constitutional guidelines adopted by the convention. The final stage was the founding conference of AFASA which was held in Boksburg, Gauteng on 10-12 April 2011, during which the farmers formally adopted the name African Farmers’ Association of South Africa (AFASA) and the founding constitution as well as elected and appointed national leadership.

Principles of management



To facilitate the development of African farmers in order to increase their meaningful participation in the agricultural sector.


To have competent and successful commercial African farmers of South Africa.


Individuals who come together for a common purpose that espouses what it stands for in order to attract those similar values.

Strategic objectives

AFASA’s strategic objectives are to create a sustainable united body of African farmers with the capacity to influence policies through lobbying and advocacy in favour of African farmers. To facilitate the development of competencies of African farmers in order for them to participate meaningfully in formal and informal markets. To mobilize resources for the benefit of African farmers.

  • To be led by people of high integrity in order to create • trust, loyalty and confidence amongst its members,
employees and the public.
  • To be a farmer centred organisation.
  • To ensure that the organisation remains true to its mission and objectives.
  • To strive for excellence including efficient and effective service provision at all levels.
  • To maintain high levels of professionalism at all times
  • To be transparent and accountable at all times
  • To respect the rights, culture and dignity of its members, employees and the public regardless of gender, race, class, tribe, political and religious affiliation or belief.

Board of directors

Mr AJ Mthembu

Mr AJ Mthembu


Ms Lilitha Mahlati

Ms Lilitha Mahlati


Mr Raato Mogajane

Mr Raato Mogajane


Mr Thami Sebusi

Mr Thami Sebusi


Ms Thandeka Mbassa

Ms Thandeka Mbassa


Our executive team

Nakana Masoka


Walter Mathidi


Dr Job Mthombeni


Ntuthu Mbiko-Motshegoa

Women Desk Chair

Keatlegile Mnguni

Youth Desk Chair

Brenda Tlhabane

Commodity Committee Chair

Ishmael Tshiame

Commodity Committee Co-convener

Pitso Sekhoto

Membership Committee Chair

Prof Thabo Masihleho

Membership Committee Co-convener

Lesego Setswalo

NC Chairperson

Mothibi Bonokwane

NC Secretary

Lundi Kama

EC Chairperson

Nandi Bukani

EC Secretary